Ten Books I CANNOT Believe I Haven’t Read Yet

Ten Books I CANNOT Believe I Haven't Read Yet

I’m ashamed to admit it, but the truth must come out: I haven’t read every book ever written. In fact, there are quite a lot of books I would like to be able to say I’ve read, and yet, I still haven’t picked them up. This week, I’m linking up with Top Ten Tuesday, hosted by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl to share ten books I can’t believe I haven’t read.

Thanks to Ilsa @ A Whisper of Ink and Marie @ Drizzle and Hurricane Books for the idea for this post!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them | J.K. Rowling | Fantasy, screenplay | Middle grade/YA | Released November 18th, 2016

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: It’s Harry Potter?! And the movie was really good, but…

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I’m honestly scared because The Cursed Child was nowhere close to as good as the originals (in my opinion) and I don’t want to be disappointed. I should really read it though! Especially because the next Fantastic Beasts movie is coming out this year.

Six of Crows

Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo | Fantasy | YA | Released September 29th, 2015

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: It sounds so good and and it’s one of the most hyped books in the YA community!

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I read Shadow and Bone because I heard someone say that you should read Leigh Bardugo’s other Grishverse books before reading Six of Crows and I actually didn’t like it. I’ll probably just skip that series and read SoC though because it sounds so good!

Dear Martin

Dear Martin | Nic Stone | Contemporary | YA | Released October 17th, 2017

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: Dear Martin is about gun violence and racism and those are both so important in America and in the world! This book has been compared to The Hate U Give, which is one of my all-time favorites.

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I really have no excuse…I’ve gotta find a copy of this one ASAP!

The Upside of Unrequited

The Upside of Unrequited | Becky Albertalli | Contemporary | YA | Released April 11th, 2017

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: The Upside of Unrequited is about sisters and I absolutely love sister books!

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I was waiting to read this one until after reading Becky Albertalli’s first book, Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (read my review here). Now that I’ve read Simon vs. (I really liked it!), I’ll have to check this one out of the library.

To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird | Harper Lee | Classic | YA/adult | Released July 11th, 1960

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: It’s a classic and one of those books everyone is supposed to read?

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: My mom started reading it to me a few years ago, and we just never finished it. I think it was just too hard because we could never find time when neither of us had work we needed to do.

Shadowhunter series | Cassandra Clare | Fantasy | YA

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: EVERYONE seems to love these books! I don’t actually know that much about them, but people rave about the Shadowhunter books all the time.

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: There are sooo many books in the series, so it’s a little intimidating. Also, this is gonna sound shallow, but the cover of the first book is just awful…

I Am Malala

I Am Malala | Malala Yousafzai & Christina Lamb | Memoir | Adult | Released November 1st, 2012

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: It’s Malala Yousafzai who’s awesome and I really should’ve read it by now.

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I checked I Am Malala out of the library but it was due before I had a chance to read it. I have it on hold again, so hopefully it’ll work out this time!

Heartless
Renegades

Marissa Meyer’s non-Lunar Chronicles books | Fantasy | YA

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: I ADORE the Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer (like Cinder is one of my favorite books), so I obviously should have read her more recent books by now.

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I haven’t heard super great things about either Heartless or Renegades, and I don’t want to be disappointed if I don’t like them. I’m sure I’ll still read them at some point, though.

All the Bright Places

All the Bright Places | Jennifer Niven | Contemporary | YA | Released January 6th, 2015

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: All the Bright Places has an interesting premise, I’ve heard good things about it, and it’s going to be made into a movie!

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: I honestly don’t have a reason. You can bet that I’ll have read it by the time the movie comes out, though!

Always and Forever, Lara Jean

Always and Forever, Lara Jean | Jenny Han | Contemporary | YA | Released May 2nd, 2017

WHY I WANT TO READ IT: I adore the Lara Jean series. It’s so cute and fluffy and I love the family relationships so much!

WHY I HAVEN’T READ IT YET: This is probably a bad reason, but I’ve been waiting for Always and Forever, Lara Jean to come out in paperback so my copies of all the books in the trilogy will match. #bookwormproblems

let's chat_banner

What are some books you’re ashamed about not having read? Have you read any of the ones I mentioned? Let me know in the comments!

♥ Annie

10 Books I CANNOT Believe I Haven't Read Yet

29 thoughts on “Ten Books I CANNOT Believe I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. in a super small voice me too! 😂

    Most of the hyped books are left untouched in my TBR list because I’m just not in the mood and I’ve already read the ending so the excitement is gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If it makes you feel better, I’ve only read two of these books. XD I’m really hoping to read I Am Malala soon, I can’t believe I haven’t yet! I’ve read Always and Forever, Lara Jean (love love love that series!) and City of Bones. I don’t blame you, the cover is atrocious. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoohoo I’m not alone in not having read a bunch of these! I’m super intimidated so start anything by Cassandra Clare because there’s so many too! Also I looooved Heartless and Renegades!!! (but it’s probably a good idea to not read Renegades until the sequel is out bc that cliffhanger is slowly killing me…)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I’m so glad you did a post like this and thank you so much for linking to my original one! 🙂
    I haven’t read Six of Crows either…. you’re not alone haha, I am just terrified of the hype?!! I also really want to read Dear Martin, I have no excuse for that one, it sounds really, really good and all of my friends have been recommending it to me. I can’t wait to read it 🙂
    LARA JEAN! I can’t wait for you to continue this series, I love it. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Astilbe Reviews

    I haven’t read Fantastic Beasts either yet for the same reason. I did enjoy the movie, though.

    Oh, and I am Malala was fabulous. Hope you like it once another copy arrives for you from the library.

    Here is our Top Ten Tuesday. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved Renegades by Marissa Meyer but I haven’t read anything else by her – the main thing is you have to go into the book expecting and accepting that there are cliche and cheesy aspects of super-heroes that you can’t avoid and love them as part of the genre. Shadowhunters has a lot of books but I burned through them pretty quickly so it’s not so bad and I love the prequels more than the main one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.