My All-Time Favorite Books

Summer DIYs + fave books (1)

If you’ve read my last post, you probably know that I’ve decided to start blogging about books in addition to bullet journaling and crafts! I thought that sharing my favorite books would be a great way to formally introduce myself as a reader.

My all-time favorite books list is 16 books long (at the moment) and is listed in no particular order. I’ve included notes about the books and why I love them under the pictures. Here goes!

The Penderwicks

by Jeanne Birdsall

IMG_4212

  • genre: childrens/middle grade, realistic fiction
  • FAVORITE BOOK EVER!!!
  • I know I said the books were in no particular order but I wanted to put this one first
  • adorable story about four sisters who go with their father to live in a cottage on an estate for the summer
  • I’ve reread The Penderwicks like a million times, as you can probably tell from how worn my copy is—it never gets old
  • fun story, relatable characters, themes about family and friendship
  • great read for all ages—my mom first read this to me when I was around six or seven, and I still love it now as a teenager
  • I CAN’T RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ENOUGH!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Harry Potter series

by J.K. Rowling

Image result for harry potter and the sorcerer's stone book

  • genre: middle grade, fantasy
  • do I even need to explain?
  • I mean, it’s harry potter.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Anne of Green Gables

by L.M. Montgomery

FullSizeRender 56

  • genre: childrens, historical fiction, classics
  • a spunky, redheaded orphan is accidentally sent to live with siblings Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert on Prince Edward Island

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Cinder

by Marissa Meyer

Image result for cinder book cover

  • genre: young adult, sci-fi, dystopian
  • futuristic retelling of cinderella where cinderella is a cyborg mechanic
  • the other books in the series (the Lunar Chronicles) are really good too!
  • great world building
  • Cinder is an awesome main character

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Hunger Games

by Suzanne Collins

Image result for the hunger games book cover

  • genre: young adult, dystopian
  • a ya classic
  • first book in a trilogy
  • set in Panem, future North America, where each of the twelve districts is forced to send two teenagers to compete in a competition where only one comes out alive
  • badass female main character who is complex and interesting to read about
  • I had a very long Hunger Games-obsessed phase

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Hate U Give

by Angie Thomas

FullSizeRender 57

  • genre: young adult, realistic fiction, contemporary
  • AMAZING book
  • so well-written and incredibly important
  • main character is with her childhood best friend when he is shot and killed by a police officer
  • must-read for all teens and adults

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Book Thief

by Markus Zusak

Image result for the book thief book cover

  • genre: young adult, historical fiction
  • in WW2 Germany, main character Liesel’s foster family hides a Jew in their basement
  • SO GOOD!
  • I couldn’t stop reading
  • themes about how awesome books are which I love!
  • narrated by death, which is super interesting/original…a little hard to get used to, but ultimately, I loved it
  • SO SO GOOD! (wait didn’t I already say that?…)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Half a World Away

by Cynthia Kadohata

Image result for half a world away book cover

  • genre: middle grade, realistic fiction
  • mc is a tween boy who was adopted from Romania and thinks he is an “epic fail”
  • beautiful book about love, adoption, and family
  • I cried SO much

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Keeper of the Lost Cities

by Shannon Messenger

Image result for keeper of the lost cities book cover

  • genre: middle grade, fantasy
  • magic! mystery! adventure! what more could you want in a middle grade fantasy novel?
  • great characters
  • super hard to put down
  • definitely recommend to readers of both middle grade and young adult! (there seems to be some disagreement as to how to categorize it)
  • I really enjoyed the entire series (there are five books so far) and I can’t wait for the next one to come out!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Ruby Redfort series

by Lauren Child

FullSizeRender 54

  • middle grade, mystery, action
  • a kid genius is recruited for a top-secret spy organization
  • super fun to read

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Wonder

by R.J. Palacio

FullSizeRender 59

  • genre: middle grade, realistic fiction
  • a favorite amongst middle grade readers
  • mc is a boy named Auggie who has a severe facial deformity
  • Auggie has been homeschooled his whole life, but his parents decide to send him to a private school for fifth grade
  • wonderful story!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Seraphina

by Rachel Hartman

FullSizeRender 58

  • genre: young adult, fantasy
  • awesome fantasy book with (yay!) dragons!
  • highly recommend (I mean, obviously, if I didn’t, it wouldn’t be on this list)
  • I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

by Ransom Riggs

Image result for miss peregrine's home for peculiar children book cover

  • genre: young adult, fantasy, historical fiction
  • kind of creepy and weird, but in a cool, original way
  • incorporates vintage photographs, which is super awesome
  • I really liked the characters and the story!
  • the premise: after Jacobs’s grandfather dies, he visits the island where he spent his childhood in hopes of finding some closure; however, he finds some pretty weird, unexpected stuff there instead

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Lightning Thief

by Rick Riordan

FullSizeRender 55

  • genre: middle grade, fantasy, mythology
  • a modern classic in the middle grade fantasy genre
  • such a fun, unique book (well, it was unique when it was written; now there are like a bajillion spinoffs with the exact same premise but whatever, the books are still fun to read)
  • I remember thinking this book was the most hilarious thing ever when I read it (I was seven or eight the first time I read the Percy Jackson books)
  • about a kid who finds out he’s the son of a god (the book is based in Greek mythology) and is sent to Camp Half-Blood, a camp for demigods
  • great for reluctant readers—my younger brother liked it when he was going through a phase when he only wanted to read sports books (yes, my family owns basically every Matt Christopher book in existence, and there are a LOT)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

I’ll Give You the Sun

by Jandy Nelson

Image result for i'll give you the sun book cover

  • genre: young adult, realistic fiction
  • AJFKSFYFYSHFUSVHJ THIS BOOK IS SO GOOD!
  • this book is about family and art and love
  • it’s so sad and complex and beautiful
  • also one of the main characters (there are two) is gay and #weneeddiversebooks
  • it’s about a pair of twins and they are such good characters
  • they alternate chapters and Jude’s chapters are when they’re older (16 I think?) and Noah’s chapters are when they’re younger (13 or 14)
  • OMG IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT YET GO READ IT NOW

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Giver

by Lois Lowry

FullSizeRender 60

  • genre: young adult, dystopian
  • Jonas lives in a world where everything is perfect; however, when he is tasked with being the “receiver of memory,” he finds that not everything is as it seems
  • another ya dystopian classic
  • fyi the movie is super different and you should read the book first

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

And those are my 16 favorite books! Did you see any of your favorites on my list? Are there any that you want to check out after reading about them? Let’s chat in the comments! ↓

Peace!

♥ Annie

fave books.png

5 thoughts on “My All-Time Favorite Books

  1. Pingback: July 2017 Reading Recap – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  3. Pingback: 20 Affordable DIY Ideas for a Boredom-free, Screen-free Summer – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  4. I like this list! I’m so ashamed to admit that I haven’t read any of them 😦

    but I added some to my never-ending tbr list) such as Giver and Penderwicks 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

