5 Feminist Book Recommendations (Because Feminism is Year-Round)

5 Feminist Book Recommendations (Because Feminism is Year-Round)

Women’s History Month just came to a close, but that doesn’t mean it’s time to stop celebrating feminism! I love reading books about feminism, and there are so many amazing feminist books out there. I’m going to be sharing five feminist book recommendations as part of a new book recs series, where I share a few book recommendations based on a certain topic. Feel free to tell me what you think of this idea in the comments! Without further ado, I present five of my favorite books about feminism.

We Should All Be Feminists


We Should All Be Feminists

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Adult nonfiction

This succinct and powerful little book, adapted from the author’s TED Talk, sums up the importance of feminism beautifully. Everyone should read this! (Add to Goodreads)

Fight Like a Girl


Fight Like a Girl

Laura Barcella
Young adult nonfiction

Fight Like a Girl is a collection that profiles the lives of 50 important women throughout history. It covers a wide, diverse range of women, from Rosa Parks to Beyoncé, with some household names and some that you may not have heard of. This is a great resource for learning about some incredible women, and while it was written for teens, I think adults would enjoy it as well.

Milk and Honey


Milk and Honey

Rupi Kaur
Adult poetry

A touching, raw book of poems with themes of femininity and loving yourself. I’ve read varied opinions on this collection, but personally, it really spoke to me and I just loved it. It may not be for everyone for everyone, but Milk and Honey resonated with me quite a lot. (Warning: rape, abuse)

Rad American Women A-Z


Rad Women Books

Kate Schatz
Children’s nonfiction

Rad American Women A-Z and Rad Women Worldwide contain profiles of various women, just like Fight Like a Girl, but this one reads more like a picture book. Nevertheless, these would be great as read-alouds with young kids or quick reads for older people. The illustrations are great too!

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks


The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks

E. Lockhart
Young adult contemporary fiction

One of my favorite reads of 2017, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks follows a girl named Frankie who pulls a series of pranks on her elite boarding school’s all-male secret society. Clever and political, this is a great ya book that will make you think.

let's chat_banner

Do you have any feminist book recs? Comment them down below!

♥ Annie

5 Feminist Book Recommendations (Because Feminism is Year-Round)

8 thoughts on “5 Feminist Book Recommendations (Because Feminism is Year-Round)

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury

    I haven’t read any of these yet ooops my bad but I DO want to!! I really want to read Milk and Honey because I loved the author’s secondary poetry collection! And I know my online library has We Should All Be Feminists, so I should really bump that up on the TBR. 🎉 I loved your list!

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.