The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson | A Powerful Look at Sexual Abuse and Its Impact (ARC Review)

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson | A Powerful Look at Sexual Abuse and Its Impact (ARC Review)

(Please excuse the dying succulents in this featured image. I’m hoping to re-pot/propagate some of them soon, so hopefully that will help!)

Happy weekend, readers! It is my pleasure to share with you today a book review for a new favorite of mine, The Art of Breaking Things. Be sure to read to the end of the post, because I have a book giveaway in store as well!

The Art of Breaking Things


The Art of Breaking Things
Laura Sibson

Published June 18th, 2019 by Viking Books for Young Readers
Young Adult | Contemporary

★★★★★

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

Seventeen-year-old Skye has her sights set on one thing: getting the heck out of Dodge. Art school is her ticket out and she’s already been accepted to her first choice, MICA. All she has to do is survive her senior year, not get too drunk at parties, and be there for her little sister, Emma. Sure, she’s usually battling a hangover when she drives to pick Emma up, but she has everything under control. Until he returns.

When her mom’s ex-boyfriend slithers his way back into her family, it’s all Skye can do to keep the walls of her world from crumbling. Her family has no idea Skye has been guarding a dark secret about her past–about him–and she never thought she would have to face him again. She knows she has to get away from him at all costs. But how can she abandon Emma? Skye’s heart is torn between escaping the man who hurt her years ago and protecting her loved ones from the monster in their midst. Running away from her fears isn’t an option. To save her sister–and herself–she’ll have to break all the rules.

(From Goodreads)

I am so, so glad that I got the chance to read an ARC of The Art of Breaking Things, because it is a stunningly beautiful book that, while intense, is 100% worth the read.

Here are the reasons why I liked it:

🎨 Honest and raw portrayal of sexual abuse

Being immersed in Skye’s world is painful at times. From the flashbacks interspersed throughout the novel that gradually clue the reader in about Skye’s mistreatment as a young kid, to her conversations with her mom later on, I felt for Skye so much. My heart broke for her, I rooted for her, and I felt like I understood her, which I think is a true sign of good writing. While Skye makes a lot of bad decisions over the course of the book, I felt like I understood how her past experiences led to those choices.

Ultimately, I think what Skye’s story tells us as readers is that (1) speak out when you’re ready, because it’s important, and (2) if someone does something bad to you, it’s not your fault, and these messages are so important for people to hear.

I know from the acknowledgements that the book at least somewhat draws on the author’s own experiences, and the care and heart that she put into this novel are evident.

🎨 Close sister relationship

Sibling! Stories! Are! Everything!

Seriously you all know that I am such a sucker for sibling relationships in books, so Skye’s relationship with her younger sister, Emma, was one of my favorite aspects of the novel. I liked its complexity—these sisters fight sometimes, which is realistic, but they’re also deeply protective of each other, and I think this is why I found their relationship so relatable.

🎨 Supportive friendships

Luisa and Ben are Skye’s two main friends, and I really like both of their characters. I love how Luisa is always there for Skye but also doesn’t push when she knows that Skye doesn’t want to talk, and I enjoyed reading the gradual romance between Skye and Ben, which, in contrast to some other relationships in the book, was healthy and based on consent.

There is also another budding friendship in the book between Skye and Keith, and I enjoyed seeing how this friendship developed as well.

🎨 Subverts the girl hate trope

So Skye has this ex-best friend, Ellen. There’s a bit of drama, and typically, media portrays these types of relationships between girls as hateful, one-dimensional and quote-unquote “b*tchy,” but instead, Ellen is actually a decent person with character development and that just made me really happy.

🎨 Use of art as a tool for healing and self-expression

There is so much art in this book, and I love it. Skye and Ben are both artists, and Ben is a musician as well, and the art that they create comes alive through the pages of the novel. I’ll describe this vaguely to avoid spoiler, but one of my favorite parts of the book is how Skye uses her art to speak her truth.

🎨 In my opinion, a pretty accurate portrayal of teenagers

As far as I can tell, and being a teenager myself, the teens in The Art of Breaking Things seemed pretty spot-on. This quote says it all:

There are probably memes of me at this point.

Please note that all quotes are from an uncorrected galley and may appear differently in the final copy.

Overall Thoughts

The Art of Breaking Things is definitely going on my favorites list for this year! This book is emotional and intense and just really well-written.

Warnings: sexual abuse by an adult to a child (narrated and talked about after it happens); sexual content between teens (in some cases consensual, in others not); teen alcohol and drug use (not portrayed in a very positive light, but present in a large amount)

Giveaway

I had the pleasure of attending the launch event for this book , where I was able to get a finished copy, so I wanted to give away my ARC in order to help get this amazing book into as many hands as possible!

There are more detailed rules in the Rafflecopter (I had to figure out how to write a Terms & Conditions thingy, which was a little scary, tbh), but here are the main rules you should know:

  • US only (Sorry! I can’t afford to ship internationally right now.)
  • 13+ with parental permission to share your address if you win
  • If you win, I’ll email you, and you’ll have 3 days to respond—if you don’t, I’ll pick a different winner.
  • The giveaway ends on 6/29/19 at 12:00 A.M. EST.

Good luck!

Here is the link to the giveaway.

You May Also Like...

Asking For It The Nowhere Girls

Let's Chat

As I bring this post to a close, I’ll leave you with the book’s dedication, which I think is beautiful and one of my favorite dedications I’ve read:

To all the girls who haven’t been heard yet.

Thanks for reading! Let me know in the comments—will you be picking up The Art of Breaking Things? Have you ever attended a book launch event? And what are your favorite types of relationships to read about in books? (siblings, parents, friends, romance, etc.)

♥ Annie

Thank you so much to Laura Sibson for kindly providing me with a review copy of this book! This in no way affected my review.

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson | A Powerful Look at Sexual Abuse and Its Impact (ARC Review)

11 thoughts on “The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson | A Powerful Look at Sexual Abuse and Its Impact (ARC Review)

  1. Pingback: Personal Book Awards 2019 – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Reading Reflection | What I Read in the First Half of 2019 – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Sibling Groups in Books | My Fave Dynamic to Read About! – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  4. Pingback: June ’19 Recap | Being Busy and Also Preparing for Something Really Exciting! – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  5. Pingback: The Stranger Things Book Tag | Only 9 Days Until Season 3!!! – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  6. ah this was already on my TBR and I’ve heard a few good things about it, glad you enjoyed! I have a weirdly specific love for stories set during senior year of high school, and the focus on family, friends, and healing only solidifies my excitement for this book. I am SO glad to hear there’s no girl hate, that’s a huge pet peeve of mine in YA/NA. also if that quote is any indication, I think I’m going to adore these characters!

    I’ve never been to a book launch but it’s on my bookish bucket list for sure, I hope you had a great time and thank you for organizing this giveaway 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I completely agree about the girl hate thing! It just always seems so unnecessary, and like…we’re so much more complicated than that, so it made me so happy that this author developed these characters and relationships in the way that she did. Ah yeah, I’ve been lucky enough to attend two book launches and they’ve both been super fun! I hope you can get to one at some point, and I hope you love this book. Good luck with the giveaway! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.