My Favorite Found Families in Books | The Disasters Blog Tour

My Favorite Found Families in Books | The Disasters Blog Tour

Hello readers! Today, I have the honor of participating in the blog tour for M.K. England’s wonderful debut, The Disasters.

In my post, I’ll be talking a little bit about the book (with character aesthetics!!) and also sharing a few of my favorite found families in books (since the idea of found family—one of my favorite tropes!—is a major part of The Disasters).

My Favorite Found Families in Books | The Disasters Blog Tour

Favorite Books with Found Families

Note: All book covers are from Goodreads and link to their respective Goodreads pages.

Six of Crows  Cinder

Six of Crows

You probably don’t need me to explain it to you because literally EVERYONE is obsessed with SoC, but Kaz, Inej, Jesper, Wylan, Nina, and Matthias are a heist crew and they’re all amazing and I love them! (Though I do think Jesper is my favorite…)

Harry Potter

I could not write this list without including HP. I mean, Mrs. Weasley literally sends Harry Christmas sweaters just like she does for her own children! (Mrs. Weasley is such a queen.) Ron and Hermione (the nerdiest nerd ever) drop out of school to help Harry chase around a bunch of dangerous objects that they have no idea how to find! The close friendship between the characters in these books is so iconic.

The Lunar Chronicles

The Rampion crew is the best. All of the individual characters and ships are great and then put them together and you get an amazing power crew!

Keeper of the Lost Cities The Gilded Wolves 

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Ugh I love these kids so much! Large casts of friend crews like this one are super fun to read about.

The Gilded Wolves

Roshani Choksi’s upcoming release, The Gilded Wolves, is about a diverse and loveable cast of characters who care about each other so much and it’s so sweet. (Especially Séverin and Tristan!!) Keep and an eye out for my review of this book, which will be up on Saturday.

Percy Jackson & Heroes of Olympus

Camp Half-Blood is basically like a super cool family except everyone has cool powers and all their parents are at war with each other all the time.

Meet the Crew of The Disasters

I absolutely love The Disasters and am super excited to tell you all a little bit about the book and its characters. Below you’ll find information about the book and some aesthetics for all of the members of its very own found family of misfits.

The Disasters


The Disasters
M.K. England
Published on December 18th, 2018
Young Adult | Sci-fi

The Disasters is a fantastic sci-fi novel that’s perfect for fans of Star Wars and the Illuminae series.

(If you want to read my review of the book, it’s on Goodreads!)

Synopsis

Hotshot pilot Nax Hall has a history of making poor life choices. So it’s not exactly a surprise when he’s kicked out of the elite Ellis Station Academy in less than twenty-four hours. 

But Nax’s one-way trip back to Earth is cut short when a terrorist group attacks the Academy. Nax and three other washouts escape—barely—but they’re also the sole witnesses to the biggest crime in the history of space colonization. And the perfect scapegoats.

On the run and framed for atrocities they didn’t commit, Nax and his fellow failures execute a dangerous heist to spread the truth about what happened at the Academy.

They may not be “Academy material,” and they may not get along, but they’re the only ones left to step up and fight.

Nax

Nax

Photo Credits: here, here, here, and here.

Zee

Zee

Photo Credits: here, here, here, and here.

Rion

Rion

Photo Credits: here, here, here, and here.

Case

Case

Photo credits: here, here, here, and here.

Asra

Asra

Photo Credits: here, here, here, and here.

Find This Book Elsewhere

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Book Depository | Kobo

M.K. England

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr

follow the tour

If you want to read more about The Disasters, make sure to check back for the rest of the posts on the blog tour!

December 17th

Pink Polka Dot Books – Welcome Post
Life of a Literary Nerd – Review
Utopia State of Mind – Guest Post

December 18th

Blossoms and Bullet Journals – Creative Post (that’s me!)
What Emma Read Next – Review
Kat’s Books – Q&A
The Reading Corner for All – Creative Post

December 19th

NovelKnight – Q&A
BookCrushin – Creative Option
The Clever Reader – Review
The YA Obsessed – Review

December 20th

Here’s to Happy Endings – Review
The Bibliophagist – Guest Post
Colleen’s Conclusions – Review
Pages to Explore – Review

December 21st

Bookish Wanderess – Review
The Candid Cover – Review & Favorite Quotes
Kait Plus Books – Review & Favorite Quotes
Hopelessly Devoted Bibliophile – Review

Let's Chat

Do you like reading books with found family storylines? What are some of your favorite examples of it? Do you plan on reading The Disasters? (Highly recommend doing so.)

♥ Annie


Thank you to Fantastic Flying Book Club for including me on the blog tour and for providing me with a copy of this book!

My Favorite Found Families in Books | The Disasters Blog Tour

3 thoughts on “My Favorite Found Families in Books | The Disasters Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: The Stranger Things Book Tag | Only 9 Days Until Season 3!!! – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Hidden Gems | Books I Loved with Less Than 2,000 Goodreads Ratings – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  3. Pingback: December ’18 Recap | Holidays & Rest – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.