The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes (ARC Review) + 9 More Fall Releases I’m Hyped For!

The Storm Runner

J.C. Cervantes’s The Storm Runner, the second title published by Rick Riordan’s new publishing imprint, is a fun, adventurous middle grade novel that’s perfect for fans of Percy Jackson.

From Goodreads:

Zane has always enjoyed exploring the dormant volcano near his home in New Mexico, even though hiking it is challenging. He’d much rather hang out there with his dog, Rosie, than go to middle school, where kids call him Sir Limps a Lot, McGimpster, or Uno—for his one good leg. What Zane doesn’t know is that the volcano is a gateway to another world and he is at the center of a powerful prophecy. A new girl at school, Brooks, informs him that he’s destined to release an evil god from the ancient Maya relic he is imprisoned in—unless she can find and remove it first. Together they return to the volcano, where all kinds of crazy happens. Brooks turns into a hawk, a demon attacks them in a cave, and Rosie gives her all while trying to protect Zane. When Zane decides to save his dog no matter the cost, he is thrust into an adventure full of surprising discoveries, dangerous secrets, and an all-out war between the gods, one of whom happens to be his father. To survive, Zane will have to become the Storm Runner. But how can he run when he can’t even walk well without a cane?

Feisty heroes, tricky gods, murderous demons, and spirited giants are just some of the pleasures that await in this fresh and funny take on Maya mythology, as rich and delicious as a mug of authentic hot chocolate.

Reasons Why I Enjoyed The Storm Runner:

1. The mythology! I’ve never read a book based on Maya mythology, and I loved getting to know the Mayan gods and creatures that were portrayed in this novel.

2. The main character. Zane is so sweet and funny and I loved reading about him.

3. The disability rep. Zane has different-sized legs, which means that he needs to walk with a cane. I don’t have a disability, so I can’t speak for the accuracy of the representation, but I liked that the story had a disabled main character—this is not something you see often. Zane’s condition played an interesting role in the story, and I loved how his disability ended up being his superpower.

4. The side characters. Mainly Hondo, Zane’s wrestling-obsessed uncle! Hondo is so cute and protective and I enjoyed him immensely as a side character. I liked how The Storm Runner diverted from the common trope of a few kids going off to save the world without adult supervision. While that trope is also enjoyable, and I think kids are awesome, (I am one, so I would know.) it’s not the most realistic of plotlines. I also just loved Hondo as a character!

5. The narration. Not only is Cervantes’s writing funny, the novel also has an interesting format that I greatly enjoyed: it’s written in the form of a letter from Zane to the gods. Every so often there would be an amusing little note for them in parentheses, and I felt like the way the author used this format added a nice touch to the story.

Overall, The Storm Runner was a highly enjoyable read that I would definitely recommend! It’s fast-paced, interesting, and like I mentioned earlier, perfect for Percy Jackson fans who are hungry for more mythology-based books.

Diversity rep: Disabled, Mexican-American main character, Hispanic and Latinx side characters
Content warnings: Animal death, some violence

Thank you so much to the publisher for providing me with a review copy of this book! This in no way influenced my review.

9 More Fall Book Releases

Since The Storm Runner comes out today, I thought it would be fun to pair its review with a list of some other fall releases. Here are nine books releasing this season that I’m excited about!

I’m linking up with Top Ten Tuesday for this post, which is a weekly meme run by Jana @ That Artsy Reader Girl!

Note: All book covers are from Goodreads and link to their corresponding Goodreads pages.

Summer Bird Blue The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy A Map of Days

Summer Bird Blue (September 11th) is about a girl named Rumi who is sent to live in Hawaii after the death of her sister. (Don’t worry, that’s not a spoiler! It’s in the blurb on Goodreads.) It’s about grief and music and it sounds super good! The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy (October 2nd), the sequel to The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, follows badass aro-ace Felicity Montague. It also has a science girl gang! (!!) I really enjoyed the first book in this series, and I’m so excited that Felicity is getting her own novel. A Map of Days (October 2nd) is the fourth book the Miss Peregrine series, which I loved!

Dry What If It's Us A Very Large Expanse of Sea

Dry (October 2nd) is a dystopian about the environment, which sounds super interesting to me. What If It’s Us (October 9th) sounds like an adorable romance, and it’s co-written by Becky Albertalli, whom I adore! A Very Large Expanse of Sea (October 16th) is about Shirin, a Muslim girl who’s 16 years old in the year after 9/11. This sounds heartbreaking and amazing and also just LOOK AT THAT COVER.

Flashback Girls of Paper and Fire Pulp

Flashback (November 6th) is the next book in one of my favorite series and I’ve been anticipating this book for sooo long. Waiting for books in a series to release is torture! Girls of Paper and Fire (November 6th) is a fantasy about sapphic Asian girls who are kidnapped to serve a king. I’ve heard so many great things! (cw: violence and sexual abuse) Pulp (November 13th) has a super interesting concept: it’s a dual narrative with one protagonist living in DC in 1952 and the other living in the present, who both find solace in lesbian pulp fiction.

So many exciting releases this season!! I want to read them all, but like I keep telling myself, I need to read the books I have on my shelf first! Maybe if I finish the books on my physical tbr, I’ll reward myself with some shiny new releases…

let's chat_banner

Are you a fan of books that are based on mythology? Do you plan on reading The Storm Runner? Do you know of any young adult/middle grade books with good disability rep? What are some fall releases you’re excited about? Chat with me in the comments!

♥ Annie

The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes (ARC Review) + 9 More Fall Releases I'm Hyped For!

14 thoughts on “The Storm Runner by J.C. Cervantes (ARC Review) + 9 More Fall Releases I’m Hyped For!

  1. Pingback: My Top 25 Most Anticipated Diverse Book Releases for the Second Half of 2019! – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  2. Pingback: September ’18 Recap | Read Some Good Books, School Started, and I am TIRED – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  3. I don’t read a lot of MG books, but I’ve been wanting to try them out more. Your review certainly makes me curious about this book 😀
    And this is such a great list! I am anticipating Summer Bird Blue just as well, I loved Starfish so much recently and can’t wait to read more from the author. What if it’s us sounds incredible just as well and Girls of Paper and Fire, too 😀
    Happy reading! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.