July 2017 Reading Recap

July 2017 Reading Recap

Hi! Happy August! The start of this month marks one month of book blogging, which is pretty exciting! I’ve decided to do a little wrap-up post where I recap all the books I’ve read/bought this month and detail my plans for August.

Books Read

  1. When the Moon Was Ours // Anna-Marie McLemore // ★★★☆☆ // I had mixed feelings about this one. Read my review here.
  2. Maus II // Art Spiegelman // ★★★★☆ // Super good graphic novel about the author’s father’s life as a Holocaust survivor.
  3. Fangirl // Rainbow Rowell // ★★★★☆ and a half // Omg this book! I wasn’t a huge fan of Eleanor and Park, but I am SO glad I decided to read Fangirl. Read my (very short) Goodreads review here.
  4. The Hidden Oracle // Rick Riordan // ★★★☆☆ and a half // Pretty good, but not as good as the original Percy Jackson books. Read my Goodreads review here.
  5. An Ember in the Ashes // Sabaa Tahir // ★★★★☆ // Really good overall, but there were a few things that were kinda annoying. Read my review here.
  6. I Kill the Mockingbird // Paul Acampora //★★☆☆☆ and a half // The whole concept was kind of stupid.
  7. Save Me a Seat // Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan // ★★★★☆ // Cute, diverse middle grade story about friendship and overcoming differences.
  8. 5 to 1 // Holly Bodger // ★★★☆☆ // Interesting premise and format; half is verse and the other half is prose.
  9. Queens of Geek // Jen Wilde // ★★★★★ // This book is awesome! Deserves all the hype, definitely recommend. Read my very short Goodreads review here.
  10. Re-gifters // Mike Carey // ★★★☆☆ and a half // Sweet, diverse, graphic novel.
  11. Kindred Spirits // Rainbow Rowell // ★★★★☆ and a half // Omg this novella is awesome! About a Star Wars nerd (#me) who waits in line for four days to see The Force Awakens!

I feel pretty accomplished for finishing this many books! I am way ahead on my Goodreads challenge (my goal is 72.) I may post reviews of some of these books later this month—if there are any in particular that you’d really like to see, drop me a comment! I will add links to the list above as reviews are posted.

7

At the last minute, I decided to participate in booktubeathon last week. For those of you who don’t know, booktubeathon is a week-long readathon hosted by booktuber Ariel Bisset where readers all around the world (you don’t have to be a booktuber to do it) attempt to read seven books in seven days. Each year, there is a set of prompts for added fun, along with daily youtube and instagram contests. Here are this year’s prompts:

  • Read a book with a person on the cover
  • Read a hyped book
  • Read a book in one day
  • Read a book about a character that’s very different from you
  • Read a book completely outdoors
  • Read a book you got because of the cover
  • Read 7 books

I managed to read all seven books and complete all of the prompts, so I am super proud of myself! It was fun, I was able to check off some of the books on my never-ending tbr, and I now feel super accomplished.

Books #5-11 on my list were all for booktubeathon. (I started An Ember in the Ashes before the challenge started, but I decided to count in anyway.)

New Books

Umm…there’s no such thing as too many books, right? Yeah, let’s go with that. Anyway, I got a lot of books this month.

Books I bought that I’ve already read

I bought a couple books that I’ve already read but don’t own and I wanted to have a copy of them.

  • Keeper of the Lost Cities book 1-5 // Shannon Messenger // One of my favorite series!
  • I’ll Give You the Sun // Jandy Nelson // Another fave!
  • Out of My Mind // Sharon Draper
  • The Unwanteds // Lisa McMann
  • Half a World Away // Cynthia Kadohata // Not pictured because my little sister is borrowing it
  • To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before // Jenny Han

Bought #1

New Books

  • Bone Gap // Laura Ruby
  • This Song Will Save Your Life // Leila Sales
  • Friends With Boys // Faith Erin Hicks
  • All the Rage // Courtney Summers
  • The Distance Between Us // Reyna Grande // My summer reading book for school
  • Carry On // Rainbow Rowell // Omg I can’t wait to read this!
  • Queens of Geek // Jen Wilde // See ‘books read’
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue // Mackenzi Lee // This came in the July Owlcrate box
  • Daughter of the Pirate King // Tricia Levenseller // And this came in the sale Owlcrate box I ordered—I believe it was the March box.
  • Lunar Chronicles coloring book // Not pictured

Bought #2

Won

I won a giveaway last month! I actually won two giveaways on the same day, which was pretty awesome. 😉 Anyway, one of the giveaways was for book depository, and I got these two books:

  • Let the Sky Fall // Shannon Messenger
  • When Dimple Met Rishi // Sandhya Menon

I am super excited to read both of these!

Won

Blog Posts

Here are all of my book-related blog posts from this July…

(clicking the link in the caption will take you to the post)

Summer DIYs + fave books (1)
My All-Time Favorite Books
wtmwo
When the Moon Was Ours
mybfo tag
Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag
july owlcrate
Owlcrate Unboxing

11

I have a lot of books to read in August! Hopefully, I’ll be able to put a dent in my tbr pile and finish most of my library books. Also, I have to read my two summer reading books for school.

  • The Distance Between Us // Reyna Grande
  • Homegoing // Yaa Gyasi
  • I Am Malala // Malala Yousafzai
  • Feathers // Jacqueline Woodson
  • Keeper of the Lost Cities (reread) // Shannon Messenger
  • Shadow and Bone // Leigh Bardugo
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses // Sarah J. Maas
  • Flying Lessons and Other Stories //  Ellen Oh
  • The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue // Mackenzi Lee
  • When Dimple Met Rishi // Sandhya Menon
  • Carry On // Rainbow Rowell

August tbr

And…that’s it! Do you like this wrap-up format? I think I do! How many books did you read in July? Did you do booktubeathon? Have you read any of the books on my tbr list? Let’s chat in the comments!

Peace!

♥ Annie

July 2017 Reading Recap

2 thoughts on “July 2017 Reading Recap

  1. OMG so many fantastic books here! xD I’ve heard so many great things about all of these books, especially The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and When Dimple Met Rishi so I hope you enjoy them as much as everyone else has. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fantastic wrap up! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

