Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

mybfo tag

Hi booknerds! I’ve been seeing this tag circling other book blogs and it looked like it would be so much fun to do. Because I love freaking out! Haha, just kidding. But seriously. This is gonna be awesome! Thanks Read with Maé and Book Nerd Reads for the tag! (You should go follow them.) 🙂


1. Best book you’ve read so far this year:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas and I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I couldn’t pick just one. 😉 Both of these are so good!!! If you haven’t read them already, stop reading this blog post (I won’t be mad) and read them.

 

 

Source: google images

2. Your favorite sequel of 2017:

Hollow City by Random Riggs. I loved the entire Miss Peregrine series.

hollow city
Source: google images

3. New release you haven’t read but want to:

Argh there are so many! Here are a few:

  • Saints and Misfits // S.K. Ali
  • When Dimple Met Rishi // Sandhya Menon // this one just arrived in the mail and I can’t wait to read it!
  • Queens of Geek // Jen Wilde // I’ve heard SO many great things about this book
  • Flame in the Mist // Renee Adieh // Mulan retelling? Bring it on!
  • Tash Hearts Tolstoy // Kathryn Ormsbee
  • Strange the Dreamer // Laini Taylor
  • Song of the Current // Sarah Tolcser

Source: google images

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year:

Here’s another list, because it’s just too hard to pick one.

  • Miles Morales // Jason Reynolds // August 1st // A comic book by Jason Reynolds! I need!
  • Dear Martin // Nic Stone // October 17th
  • Nightfall // Shannon Messenger // November 7th // Ahhh I love this series so much.
  • Renegades // Marissa Meyer // November 7th

Source: google images

5. Your biggest disappointment:

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green. This book was funny, but for some reason, I just didn’t really like it. I loved The Fault in Our Stars (just like basically everyone else in the entire universe) so I thought I would like this too, but it just didn’t click with me.

an abundance of katherines
Source: google images

6. Biggest surprise of the year:

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I never thought that I would read this book. Just by the title, I thought it would be super cheesy and romantic, a combo I’m not usually into. But I’m glad I picked it up! It was still kind of very cheesy, but I enjoyed it way more than I thought I would. It was a super light, fun read.

to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before
Source: google images

7. Favorite new to you or debut author:

E. Lockhart. I read The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks in May and loved it! Frankie is such a great character. I couldn’t stop laughing and I loved the underlying feminist themes.

the disreputable history of frankie landau-banks
Source: google images

8. Your new fictional crush:

Laurie from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. This is probably kind of a weird pick, but I just loved Laurie’s character. (Totally unrelated but the puffin in bloom edition is gorgeous! Now I want to buy the set so I can look at them whenever I want.)

little women
Source: google images

9. New favorite character:

Starr from The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. Starr is just amazing and brave and such a great, realistic character!

The Hate U Give
Source: google images

10. A book that made you cry:

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I teared up at least three times while reading this book. It’s amazing! I’ll Give You the Sun also made me cry A LOT, but I did already use that one, so I figured I’d do Fangirl instead. 😉

fangirl-cover
Source: google images

11. A book that made you happy:

Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson. This is such a cute graphic novel about friendship and adventure!

lumberanes
Source: google images

12. Favorite book to movie adaptation you’ve seen this year:

Probably Beauty and the Beast. The movie was so well done! And Emma Watson is such a good singer.

image_19221b22
Source: google images

13. Favorite book post published this year:

Um, I’ve only posted two book posts this year, so I guess my favorite is My All-Time Favorite Books.

Summer DIYs + fave books (1)

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought/received:

Possibly When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore. I had mixed feelings about the book itself (read my review here,) but the cover is undeniably stunning.

when the moon was ours
Source: google images

15. Book you need to read before the end of the year:

Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die
Source: google images

Ruby Redfort: Blink and You Die by Lauren Child. I adore this series, but the new one is so hard to find it in the US, especially the hardback. And I want the hardback because it’s so much prettier and I want the cover to match the other books in the series that I own. #bookwormproblems


If you’re reading this, I tag you! If you end up doing it, let me know—I’d love to read your answers and will probably like/comment.

What are your favorite books so far from 2017? Do we have any in common? Let’s chat in the comments!

Peace!

♥ Annie

Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

3 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Pingback: July 2017 Reading Recap – Blossoms and Bullet Journals

  2. The Hate U Give and I’ll Give You the Sun are both books that I really, really love, so I’m glad you enjoyed them too! Too bad that An Abundance of Katherines wasn’t your cup of tea; I honestly really liked it, but I’m definitely part of the minority here, ha. The only book I’ve read by E. Lockhart is We Were Liars, but I love that book so much, so I should definitely give her other ones a go. Great post, and I hope the second half of the year is off to a good start for you! 🙂

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

